Day 17 – Update

As one whom his mother conforts, so I will comfort you. – Isaiah 66:13

Evan is having a good day and had a pretty good night. He has a small blood clot from the heart cath which I am told is not very uncommon so he is on IV Heparin which is a blood thinner.  I went home yesterday afternoon in order to hang out with Cameron while Dad and Evan had some fun. I came in a little later than I normally do this morning and the doctors and nurses were a little disappointed! Why? Because that means less cuddle time for them! Everyone loves visiting Evan and getting some cuddle time and he loves the attention. When I got here I thought he was sleeping so I spoke to the nurse at the desk right outside of the room. He must have heard my voice because he started talking up a storm ‘like hey, I’m in here!’

We learned from the heart catherization there is a small hole in the repair and though the hole is very small there is a significant amount of blood flow between the hole. Ideally for every liter of blood in the heart the ratio of blood that goes to the lungs and the amount of blood that goes to the body should be 1:1 and in Evan’s case it is 1:2 which in simplest terms means he was too much blood without oxygen going to his body. They also found that he has a narrowing in one of his pulmonary veins. However, he does not have pulmonary hypertension. We spoke to the surgeon and due to the significant blood flow and narrowing of the veins he will need to have another surgery which they are scheduling for Monday. There is a possibility that the hole will close on it’s own but he feels it is best to go ahead and close it now instead of us going home and having it monitored for a couple of months and having to close it later on down the road. During the surgery he will also open up the pulmonary vein. In addition, he will also close the residual asd which was left open due to suspected pulmonary hypertension and would eventually close on it’s own to prevent the pulmonary hypertension from occurring. The good news is it is a much simpler surgery than the first. I am also thankful that Evan is so young that he won’t remember any of this. I see a lot of patients here who are older and can’t say the same thing. This will be all a very distant memory

It was very hard for me to hear that he would need to undergo another surgery and I admit I had a moment of disappointment and some guilt the night  we received the news but it was just that a moment that I allowed myself to have. My faith in God has gotten us this far and he didn’t bring us this far to leave us!! I read a quote that said ‘focus on the what is and let God worry about the what-ifs’ so that is what I am going to do. I ask for your continued prayers and support that you have shown us and ask that you keep the faith and positive vibes coming. Remember, it is not about the set backs it is about the comebacks! I hope that you also remember that when things don’t go your way to remember to smile and face it with a #radiantwarriorspirit!!

 

“Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”. John 14:27

20140517-144001.jpg

20140517-144013.jpg

4 thoughts on “Day 17 – Update

  1. Pam says:

    Be Encouraged!

    “He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most high shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty” Psalms (91:1)

    God has us under his wings of comfort and protection….no need to fear!
    Yeah…Keep on!!

  2. Diana says:

    Evan looks great! This is just a bump in the road and a small setback, but with Gods firm hand he will make sure that all goes well for you this week. My thoughts and prayers will be with you this week.

Leave a Reply

