Boston Day 3 – Quick Update

Evan has had a busy morning today. He woke up with a fever and had some vomiting. We think he may have aspirated which basically means that fluid went down the wrong pipe and went into his lungs this in turn has caused Evan to require more oxygen so he is now on a nose cannula which is delivering a liter of oxygen to help him and he seems to be doing well. In order to give his stomach a rest they have stopped feeds and he is getting fluids via is IV. They are also working with their GI department to come up with a game plan to determine if we can start the feeds again. This marks the second day that he has spiked a fever; yesterday he spiked one in the morning but it quickly broke and he had a great day. Since he spiked a fever again they started antibiotics as a precaution as well as to help his lungs if he in fact aspirated.

They did blood work this morning and all came back normal except for his potassium levels so they are adding some potassium to the fluids he is getting. He was very lethargic this morning but after a couple cat naps he is looking much better and is talking.

We know God is working so we smile!

This was yesterday pre nose cannula:

20140726-154839-56919537.jpg

5 thoughts on “Boston Day 3 – Quick Update

  1. Grandma says:

    Evan, I pray for you every day so you keep smiling that bright smile of yours! I pray for mama, daddy and big brother too. I pray for the doctors and medical staff up there in Boston (just like I did for Pbgh) so they can help make you well again. Stay strong little one with the radiant warrior spirit! That goes for the rest of your family too. Love to all.

  2. Pam says:

    The Word of God says “Be Still and know that I am God”
    Keep trusting in our Almighty Father and continue to rely on his word which is the Word of God!

  3. Leslie Renee briscoe says:

    Sending heartfelt prayers your way. My mom is a friend of your uncle Chester and shared your story with me today. I have added you to our church prayer list as well as my personal prayer list. I truly believe in the power of prayer and God’s grace. My daughter was born at 28 weeks and is now a thriving and vibrant 8 year old with more energy than I could ever imagine. Not one of the complications they warned me about manifested and she is my perfect angel. I ask also for god to continue to give you strength, guidance and persistence as you fight along with him. I look forward to following your posts and send love and hugs your way-
    We can do all things thru Christ who strengthens us…
    Leslie

Leave a Reply

