1.21 for T21

I am so excited to share this news with you all! While in Boston I came across a Facebook group called I Run 4. I Run 4 is a group of dedicated runners who dedicate the miles that they run for someone who is going through some type of medical condition and otherwise may not be able to run themselves. It was just the motivation I needed to get through those last days in Boston before we came home and immediately signed up to be matched with a runner.

From their website:

The mental and emotional encouragement for both runner and honorary runner is proving to be a whole new level of motivation and awareness. Runners are abelt to find a whole new sense of purpose in their running while sharing who they are running for and bringing awareness to diseases and disabilities of all types.

 

Within days Evan was matched with Ayeisha.  and what a blessing she is. The fun thing about I Run 4 is runners can post pictures to FB about their run and write messages to make Evan feel special. Ayeisha always directs her messages to Evan I always respond as if I am Evan. I read him the messages and respond how I think he would respond. It is super fun. In this short time Ayeisha and I are also working to build a relationship by instant messaging so that we can learn more about each other and in the short time I have known her I can say she is a beautiful person inside and out. I was inspired by another runner who posted that she would be running 21 miles during the month of October for Down Syndrome Awareness month and I thought how fun would it be if Ayeisha could do something similiar so I sent her a private message explaining that October was DS awareness month and asking if we could do something to raise awareness. She was feeling under the weather that day but the following day she and a co-worker had come up doing a 1.21 mile walk/run during the lunch hour at work and have named it 1.21 for T.21. CAN you say A-MA-ZING!!!!! I don’t know many details because they want it to be a surprise but what I do know is I feel so blessed and highly favored and I am once again humbled by the outpouring of support that we are receiving. Did I mention they are in Miami Florida?!?!?  I mean these are people we have never met in person who are going out of their way to make our family feel special and I can’t say how great that makes us feel. It really is an indescribable feeling. The event starts at noon today and they will begin walking at 12:15. I had planned on taking Evan on a walk this afternoon at the same time but the weather isn’t cooperating BUT if you can get outside this afternoon at noon and take a walk please do and be sure to send me your pictures. I am not sure if youc an post pictures in the comments if not please post them on Facebook and tag me and I will post on the blog.  Ayeisha has agreed to do a guest blog post in the very near future about the event and I can’t wait for you to meet her.  Stay tuned!

This is yet another example of how people have really just stepped up and showed us how much we are loved. God is so good and I am reminded every day that there are WAY more good people in the world than bad.

 

To learn more about I Run 4 you can visit their website below:

http://www.whoirun4.com/about-ir4/

 

 

 

IMG_6002.PNG

One thought on “1.21 for T21

  1. Amber says:

    That was so beautiful!!!! It really brought tears to my eyes. How amazing is God!!! I will definitely run on the treadmill for 1.21 miles this weekend.

Leave a Reply

