Welcome to the Club

TTR31for21-5

I am introvert. I found an article on Huffington Post that describes me pretty well with the exception of a couple. In particular #8 on the list is Giving a talk in front of 500 people is less stressful than having to mingle with those people afterwards. I AM NOT A MINGLER. In fact, it is one of my least favorite things to do. If I am going to an event where mingling is the opening activity I will usually find a way to skip the mingling part. There is something oddly strange to me about going up to people I don’t know and striking a conversation. It’s just not me. If someone initiates a conversation with me I am certainly personable and can hold a conversation but don’t expect me to go up to someone and start one. Ryan is the opposite; he is a mingler.

Once I had Evan I had this feeling that I couldn’t quite put my finger on. Any time I saw someone with Trisomy 21 I wanted to run up to them and say “Hello, and tell them all about Evan.” Of course I didn’t but I wanted to. A couple of times I saw families with children who had Trisomy 21 and I wanted to go up to them and say I to had a son with Trisomy 21 and how proud I was of him. Ryan on the other hand had no issues making new friends. He would often come home and say I met a guy with Trisomy 21 today or I met a mom and her daughter with Trisomy 21. Of course, him I would drill him about what they talked about and more importantly how he even sparked the conversation. I was intrigued but knew that was too far out of my comfort zone to do although I sometimes wanted to.

Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh has a Down Syndrom Clinic and when Dr. Vellody walked into the room during our first appointment he said “Welcome to the Club!” That was it . This feeling I had was that we now belonged to this special club and I was so happy to be a member. Dr. Vellody’s brother has Down Syndrome which inspired to do what he does as the Medical Director of the clinic.  I feel a certain connection to people who have Trisomy 21 or a loved one it really feels like we are part of a special club.

 

Are you an introvert? Not sure, check out  this article. I would say all describe me except for #3,5 and 21

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/20/introverts-signs-am-i-introverted_n_3721431.html

 

 

 

One thought on “Welcome to the Club

Leave a Reply

